A Week Gone by in a Flash…

20 Aug

So I woke up last Sunday to a lovely email from a gentleman from Match.  I had checked out his profile the night before and was thinking about emailing, but he beat me to it.  I emailed back and that was the start of a whirlwind week.

We spoke on the phone on Sunday afternoon… He seemed like a very nice guy.  We had a great conversation.  He was intelligent, witty, sweet… I learned he had a stable career and was a very involved dad.  He had a lot going for him  We agreed to meet the next evening for dinner.  This was the quickest I have ever moved through ‘the process’.  I guess I’m getting to the point now, that I don’t want to waste hours on emails and phone calls, only to meet and realize there’s no chemistry at all.

Monday comes and we meet at a casual restaurant for dinner.  He is extremely warm in person… a big hug… touches my hand over appetizers… says all the right things.  When we leave the restaurant and decide to go for coffee, he leans in for a kiss.  A very pleasant kiss.  He says he’s been wanting to do that since I walked into the restaurant. Another big hug and we’re off for coffee.  He asks me out on two more dates… Friday and Saturday night.  Okay, I think to myself,  this guy is really interested!  He made me feel… good… attractive, desirable… sexy.  It was ‘almost’ too good to be true.

I wasn’t even home yet when I got his first text… ‘I miss you already’.  Sighs… writing this now, I realize just how ridiculous this all sounds.  I totally ignored the ‘too much, too soon’ warning bells going off in my head.  I always wanted to be ‘swept off my feet’.  I saw the broom coming and leaped right in its path.  The week proceeded at a breakneck speed… more texts, phone calls, and requests for dinner dates.  I had plans most of the week so had to politely decline, but changed my plans on Thursday so I could go out to dinner with Mr. Flash.

Another great date. Mr. Flash was charming, generous and totally attentive.  The chemistry was still there and even kicked up a few notches.  I was really looking forward to the weekend.  Then Friday rolls around… I notice that there’s not as many phone calls or texts.  But hey, I chalk it up to a busy day at work.  We meet and head out to a concert.  It’s at this point I start to sense something is ‘off’.  He seems preoccupied.  He puts the radio on, in what seems like an attempt, to avoid conversation.  There are no compliments tonight.  He’s still a bit touchy feely, but even that seems to be on the decline.  After a kiss goodnight… I get a ‘see you tomorrow’ and Mr. Flash is gone.

The texts are now getting few and far between. No phone calls at all on Saturday.  I wonder if we’re still going out.  I finally text in the afternoon and ask.  I word it in a way to allow him to get out of the date easily.  I was rather surprised that he responded with an ‘of course we’re going out’.  Okay, now I think to myself, I’m misreading him.  I’m being too… too… too something.  I decide to go with an open mind and fully intend to have some fun.

When we meet, there is no hello kiss, no hug.  He barely talks to me… instead opts for talk radio.  Actually, he barely looks at me.  There is very little hand holding.  I try my hardest to keep the conversation going, only to be faced with one word muttered responses.  The game sucks, the conversation sucks… the date… sucks.  I can’t wait to get home.  But I’m starving at this point, so when he suggests we stop for something to eat, I open my mouth and say ‘yes’ before even thinking.  UGH.  Dinner was… painful.  Thankfully we were seated near a bar so I could watch TV, because Mr. Flash spent most of dinner playing with his phone.  Yes… You read that right… playing with his phone over dinner.  By this time, I’m utterly disgusted and want to go home.  At my car, there’s a peck good night and he mumbled something like ‘talk to you tomorrow’.

I cried all the way home.  Not because Mr. Flash turned out to be Mr. Flop, but because of my own stupidity.  I’m still wondering how someone can go from 0 to 90, back to 0 in under a week.  Here’s the texts I got today:

Him:  🙂

Me: No response

Him: Hey

Me: 🙂

Him: What are you doing?

Me: Laundry

Him: Awwww

That’s it folks.  That’s all she wrote.  Mr. Flash has now officially become… Mr. Flash in the Pan.  And me?  On one hand, I’m feeling pretty embarrassed, confused and stupid.  On the other hand, I’m proud of myself.  I put myself out there… I allowed myself to be vulnerable… I’m not sure if I was taken advantage of, or, just met someone that doesn’t really know what he wants.   In any case, I’m going to pick myself up, dust myself off and hope that the next broom that comes by is being pushed by someone with a bit more integrity.

6 Responses to “A Week Gone by in a Flash…”

  1. dingdongitsmrwrong August 20, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    Aww pirsquare314 this sounds sooo much like my Judge Justice Story! It’s a joke. Mr Dreamer no doubt. In fact Mr Flash I like that! Very funny. Have a read of the male perspective of this on my page. Go to Share Your Stories! Calling All Men! Adam gives a brutally honest account of what goes on in his mind when he begins a relationship. Classic Mr Flash or Mr Dreamer! He says he is a.version his ‘best self’ and sets out to impress than realising he’s setrhe bar to high regressed back into aloofness and disinterest. Not all guys are like this hun. You weren’t used you just experienced Mr Flash and poor ting couldn’t keep it up or follow through. About laundry and “Awww” what a dolt. I feel sorry for him!

    dingdongitsmrwrong.WordPress.com 🙂

    • dingdongitsmrwrong August 20, 2012 at 8:14 am #

      Also could you please paste a link to this on my page. This would be great for the book! X

      • pirsquare314 August 20, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

        Hi Daniella!

        Thank you for your wonderful comments 🙂 Ha! I love that word… dolt! 😉 I’ll be sure to pop over to your blog and link Mr. Flash. I’m still in a bit of shock… funny, when I think back to that last dinner. He kept saying over and over that he was, as a person, ‘too kind’. Huh? He might indeed be kind, but evidently he has no balls 😉 Why can’t people realize that the truth is always better than this slow fade nonsense? Sighs…

  2. Matt79 August 20, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    I see what you mean about being careful what I wished for with my previous comment! Now I’m thinking of the film Bedazzled (I prefer the Dudley Moore/Peter Cook one, but I guess the Brendan Fraser/Liz Hurley one works for the analogy too.) I have to word my wishes more carefully! OK – I hope the next guy starts out as lovely and keen as Mr Flash, and then stays that way with you for as long as you want him to. And that the relationship doesn’t fall foul of any of the “tricks” in either Bedazzled film. Or any other unpleasant things that I’ve missed.

    As for this guy – I’m struggling to come up with a theory! I certainly don’t think that you were stupid or did anything wrong. Unfortunately, I think that such a sudden change from him is most likely due to someone else being in the picture, and then he somehow thought he was “doing the right thing” by keeping your dates despite being a dick on them. But for him to change in 24 hours – could he really have met someone else in that time? I guess we’ll never know. But yes, good for you for putting yourself out there, and for sounding like you’re still prepared to do it again despite this wacky guy!

    • pirsquare314 August 20, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

      Haha Matt! I think you’ve covered all your bases now 🙂 Thank you so much for your reassurance… While I do feel a bit embarassed still, I know I was completely honest and open, and at the end of the day,I can go to sleep knowing I tried my best. I think you may be right about there being someone else in the picture… he did mention a recent breakup, perhaps he wasn’t quite over that relationship yet. Who knows, perhaps that’s who he was texting over our last dinner 😉 I just wish I did know the truth… I have this crazy thing about closure 🙂

      Thanks again for your wonderful comments and for stopping by!

  3. dingdongitsmrwrong October 9, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    Hey Pirsquare. Where have you disappeared to. I hope to read your very witty stories/experiences/accounts very soon. Even though you haven’t found Mr Right yet, yoru stories and the way you phrase things really does make me chuckle. I have no stories to tell as yet as haven’t dated since June! I need to get out more. Still writing Mr Wrong so watch this space! x

Leave a Reply

